FRENCH CHAOS ZONE

SHEEP ON METH SHOCKED WITH TASERS !
 
HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  GalleryGallery  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  FAQFAQ  Log inLog in  

Share | 
 

 My record reviews (listenin'to, talkin' about)

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
vx



Male Number of posts : 6638
Registration date : 2007-01-07

PostSubject: My record reviews (listenin'to, talkin' about)   Fri 5 Jun 2009 - 23:48

The horrors – primary colours



Hey, we got a hype band here ! I must confess liked the first album (which sounded somewhat like The Cramps covering The Cure’s Pornography – or maybe The Cure covering The Cramps, but who cares), but this new “effort” is completely disappointing, despite the raving reviews I can read everywhere… This just sounds like the averagely cool English band trying to be the new Echo And The Bunnymen, with a huge and noisy production by a Portishead member trying to give some My Bloody Valentine feeling to the stuff. In the mid-80’s, this would have been a great record ; now it’s just nostalgia for heroic wave-rock, and that sucks. Oh, there’s nothing wrong here, I mean, you can listen to the songs, they’re nice… But where’s the fire burning ?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
vx



Male Number of posts : 6638
Registration date : 2007-01-07

PostSubject: Re: My record reviews (listenin'to, talkin' about)   Fri 5 Jun 2009 - 23:50



Adrian Wagner - Karming The Elements

Compared to the absolutely awful albums Adrian Wagner tends to record, this one appears as a nice piece of new-agey synth stuff, quite 70’s sounding – think Tangerine Dream on their lighter moments… Lots of “natural” sounds too, and ethnical-type percussions. Nothing new or really interesting, but nice to hear whilst cleaning the room or thinking about the future of the planet. Would be a nice alternative music for “Les mystérieuses cites df’or” ha ha
Back to top Go down
View user profile
vx



Male Number of posts : 6638
Registration date : 2007-01-07

PostSubject: Re: My record reviews (listenin'to, talkin' about)   Fri 5 Jun 2009 - 23:52



I always liked Test Dept, especially live records – few industrial bands have that sense of tribal percussions and metal banging. And their social/politic speech has always appealed to my good old leftist trends… Gododdin is a welsh-folklore based concept, and it is no surprise we can find here some similarities with early days Laibach. Strong and powerful, but with a sense of aural space added, this record somewhat relates to the Pax Britannica record ; we get the same semi-orchestral and traditional patterns mixed with aggressive sampled percussions. Sonicly speaking, it aged a bit, but the tracks are great ; and the use of welsh language in the female spoken words is just really efficient. But, more than anythiung, I love this record because it shows martial music and “traditional themes” on industrial music can be tackled by left-wings band and are not to be left to the usual proto-fascists complaining about the modern world. [/img]
Back to top Go down
View user profile
viktor von daphodil



Male Number of posts : 158
Age : 25
Localisation : paris
Registration date : 2008-08-28

PostSubject: Re: My record reviews (listenin'to, talkin' about)   Sat 6 Jun 2009 - 14:06

vx cheerleader 69 wrote:
The horrors – primary colours



Hey, we got a hype band here ! I must confess liked the first album (which sounded somewhat like The Cramps covering The Cure’s Pornography – or maybe The Cure covering The Cramps, but who cares), but this new “effort” is completely disappointing, despite the raving reviews I can read everywhere… This just sounds like the averagely cool English band trying to be the new Echo And The Bunnymen, with a huge and noisy production by a Portishead member trying to give some My Bloody Valentine feeling to the stuff. In the mid-80’s, this would have been a great record ; now it’s just nostalgia for heroic wave-rock, and that sucks. Oh, there’s nothing wrong here, I mean, you can listen to the songs, they’re nice… But where’s the fire
burning ?



i agree with you...

the first album, was great, strong, violent , noizy , made as a matter of urgency, the mix was quite different than all the shity mix you can hear now on the radio

but primary colour, is very poor in creativity, they just plagiarized ian curtis' voice, joy division's, cure's, new order's keybords and synth.
lyrics look like a bad " love will tear us apart".

there is no good idea and this album doesn't bring nothing, unfortunaly..

I hope they will do something better for the next album (a second album is generaly an hard exercise)....
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/vvdmusic
vx



Male Number of posts : 6638
Registration date : 2007-01-07

PostSubject: Re: My record reviews (listenin'to, talkin' about)   Sun 7 Jun 2009 - 0:42

Download Fixer



Bleeping electronica with no focus and no meaning. Pure wanking. OK, you might like it if you’re into deconstructed IDM ; I’m not. Some pretty cool sonic textures, tho (that’s cEvin Key after all !) but ruined by the overall structure. The only tracks I felt some emotion whilst listening are the very breakcore-ish 12 Yearsblows, with its cool emotional opening before the abstract rhythmic storm, Starve (nicely crafted drum pattern with cool subdued sound-waves and dance-wavish synth), and Hoorse, the only thing here to relate (even loosely) to a “song” (sounds a bit like Tear Garden stuff, actually, with cool ethnic percussions). And Eruption could have been ok with Ogre singing on it (or actually anyone ! Any fucking voice !)… But in the end, completely forgettable.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: My record reviews (listenin'to, talkin' about)   Today at 13:46

Back to top Go down
 
My record reviews (listenin'to, talkin' about)
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Stooges /MC5 reissues for Record Store Day 4/18
» !969/Real Cool Time Record Store Day 45
» Rocks Back Pages (Stooge Reviews)
» How much is a Raw Power Vinyl Record "worth"?
» Bob Marley art - Burnin' on vinyl record

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
FRENCH CHAOS ZONE :: Chaos French Zone-
Jump to: